Introduction to Manufacturing Processes
11-22 June 2018

Organizer: Prof. Niraj Sinha

Purpose of the course:

The economic strength of a country is usually judged by the growth of its manufacturing industries. Therefore, manufacturing has become part of the fabric of our country with emphasis on "Make in India" by the government. It is important that technical workforce from all disciplines have basic idea about processes involved in making a product. The course aims to impart the basic knowledge about the fundamental manufacturing techniques employed to convert a raw material into final product.

The course will introduce important mechanical properties of materials, conventional and non-conventional material removal processes, CNC programming, metrology, microfabrication processes and layered manufacturing technique. We plan to run this course in TA202 lab. Each day will start with one-hour lecture about various manufacturing processes that will be followed by working in the lab. At the end of the course, the participants will be able to demonstrate a working prototype designed, fabricated and assembled by them. The prototypes will be based broadly on following themes: agriculture, transportation, healthcare, educational toys to help school children, machines and mechanisms.

We envision participation from undergraduate students and faculty members that have been appointed recently through TEQIP. It will give opportunity to the students to get a hands on experience that they usually lack due to absence of infrastructure in their institute. At the same time, the faculty members will be exposed to the pedagogy of IIT Kanpur and this course will help them in planning the course and setting up the lab in their parent institute in an efficient manner.

Tentative topics

  1. Introduction: Introduction to manufacturing, evolution of manufacturing, importance of design in manufacturing, engineering materials, mechanical properties important for manufacturing.
  2. Conventional Material Removal Processes: Theory of chip formations, generation of surfaces, force and power relationships, cutting tool material and its geometry, tool wear, fundamentals of machine tools, types of machining operations.
  3. Unconventional Material Removal Processes: Introduction, mechanical energy processes, thermal energy processes, electro chemical machining.
  4. Computer Numerical Control and Programming: Basics of numerically controlled machines, programming for NC machines, motion and coordinate system, structure of a NC part program, examples of part programming.
  5. Microfabrication Processes: Silicon processing, lithography, microfabrication processes.
  6. Layered/Generative Manufacturing Processes: Fundamentals, steps in additive manufacturing, additive manufacturing technologies.
  7. Engineering Metrology: Dimensions, tolerances, surfaces, structure and properties, surface texture and roughness, engineering metrology and instrumentation.

Tentative Schedule

Registration: 8:00 AM - 9:00 AM
DAY/TIME 9:00-10:00 10:00-10:15 10:15-13:00 13:00-14:00 14:00-17:00
DAY 1 Course overview. Introduction to engineering materials, discussion on mechanical properties important for manufacturing T
Visit to TA202 lab. Formation of group. Assignment of guides. L
Training and exercise on lathe, milling & drilling and fitting (in groups of 20)
DAY 2 Conventional Material Removal Processes Discussing projects with assigned with the instructor and guides.
DAY 3 Conventional Material Removal Processes Isometric drawing, drawings of individual parts, calculations and bill of materials.
DAY 4 Conventional Material Removal Processes Demonstration on CNC and metrology
DAY 5 CNC Programming CNC practice with own program. Start making the project.
DAY 6 Unconventional Material Removal Processes Visit to other labs Project making and assembly (with help of guides)
DAY 7 Unconventional Material Removal Processes Project making and assembly (self)
DAY 8 Microfabrication
DAY 9 Additive Manufacturing
DAY 10 Engineering Metrology Project demonstration and valedictory

Project by Participating Institutes

Group Report Project Video
Group 2 Report
Group 3 Report
Group 4 Report Video
Group 7 Report Video
Group 8 Report Video
Group 10 Report
Group 11 Report Video 1 Video 2

Who can apply

UG students up to 3rd year from Mechanical, Aerospace and Civil department.( Preference will be given to students of Mechanical department)

How to apply

Contact the TEQIP Coordinator of your institute. He/She will collect the names of interested students and send them to us at

A group of at least 10 students accompanied by a faculty from each institute is desired.The names of students should be recommended by the TEQIP coordinator/Director/HOD of the institute/department. There is no registration fees for participants from TEQIP colleges. TEQIP cell at IIT Kanpur will arrange for and cover the expenses of accommodation and food during the course for all participating delegates.


Students will be accommodated in student hostel and accompanying faculty will be accommodated in VH. Double occupancy rooms will be provided to faculty.

Registered Participants

Warning: include(../../teqipadmin/includes/connection.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/teqipiit/public_html/workshop/2018/manufacturing-process/index.php on line 268

Warning: include(../../teqipadmin/includes/connection.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/teqipiit/public_html/workshop/2018/manufacturing-process/index.php on line 268

Warning: include(): Failed opening '../../teqipadmin/includes/connection.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/alt/php70/usr/share/pear') in /home/teqipiit/public_html/workshop/2018/manufacturing-process/index.php on line 268

Notice: Undefined variable: con in /home/teqipiit/public_html/workshop/2018/manufacturing-process/index.php on line 270

Warning: mysqli_query() expects parameter 1 to be mysqli, null given in /home/teqipiit/public_html/workshop/2018/manufacturing-process/index.php on line 270

Warning: mysqli_fetch_array() expects parameter 1 to be mysqli_result, null given in /home/teqipiit/public_html/workshop/2018/manufacturing-process/index.php on line 272
Sr.No. Name Department Institute

Accompanying Faculty

Institute Faculty Name
D.C.E. Darbhanga Mr. Rajat Gupta (Assistant Professor)
Dumka Engineering College Mr. Prasenjit Sarkhel
LNJPIT, Chapra Mr. Saurabh Priyadarshi
REC, Banda Mr. Saurabhi Tripathi & Mr. Anshul Gupta
Thiagarajar college of Engineering, Madurai Mr. C Vignesh